What is the DDB


To cultivate a community of all downtown property and business owners and residents, while advocating, beautifying and actively promoting our businesses and authentic heritage in Downtown St Thomas


To engage, inspire and welcome our community and visitors to experience Downtown St Thomas as a unique destination


Business Improvement Area as defined in the Municipal Act, 2001

The St Thomas Downtown Development Board is a volunteer based Committee  of Council tasked to:

204. (a) to oversee the improvement, beautification and maintenance of  municipally-owned land, buildings and structures in the area beyond that provided at the expense of the municipality generally; and (b) to promote the area as a business or shopping area.


2019 Board of Directors

Earl Taylor – Chair – Coldwell Banker at Success Realty
+ Member of Special Events Committee
Dave Thomson – Vice Chair – MYFM
Sarah Van Pelt – Treasurer – Van Pelts Print Plus
Grayden Laing – Beautification Chair – Laing Studio
Susan Boldt – Promotions Chair – Limitless Tattoos
+ Member of CIP Selection Committee
Russell Schnurr – Fanshawe College
+ Member of CIP Selection Committee
Reza Alavie – Yurek Pharmacy Home Healthcare
Lisa Kelly – OBIAA Accessibility Committee

Sean Dyke – Advisor St Thomas EDC
Megan Pickersgill – Advisor Railway City Tourism
Tara McCaulley – Small Business Enterprise Centre
Adrienne Jefferson – St Thomas Parks and Recreation
Barry Fitzgerald – St Thomas & District Chamber of Commerce
Mayor Joe Preston – Council Representative

In January 2018, the St Thomas Downtown Development Board approved and released it’s first Strategic Plan. This Strategic Plan will be used to guide the decision making process in developing and improving it’s beautification and promotion efforts in Downtown St Thomas. The plan can be viewed by clicking here: APPROVED DDB Strategic Plan January 31 2018